Last updated: June 21. 2014 1:46PM - 1039 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The 2014 Bryan County primary election will be 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Tuesday, June 24.

Bryan County Democrats will make their picks in state and congressional contests, plus a few local races. There are three different ballots for the Dems. All will include a section to select from incumbent Nancy Connor or Prudy Sullivan for county treasurer. Voters registered in county commissioner District 1 will choose between Chuck Downs and Kevin Carter; those in District 3 will mark in favor of incumbent Jay Perry or Roger Hedgecock.

Republicans only have choices to make in state and congressional races. No Republicans are running for county treasurer or county commissioner District 3, so those elections will be decided in the Tuesday primary. The winner of commissioner District 1 will face Republican Ron Boyer during the general election.

Voters registered as Independents don’t go to the polls until the November general election.

At the April 11 filing deadline, according to the state election board, the governor’s race drew seven candidates. But after several Democratic candidates withdrew or declined, State Rep. Joe Dorman is unopposed for the party’s nomination. Republicans will pick a nominee from a pool of three that includes incumbent Mary Fallin, attorney Chad Moody and former pastor Dax Ewbank.

For the first time in state history, both U.S. Senate seats are on the ballot. The regular six-year term already was scheduled for election, and the resignation of GOP Sen. Tom Coburn opened the other seat in Washington, D.C. Three Democrats, Michael Patrick Hayes, Jim Rogers and Connie Johnson, and seven Republicans, James Lankford, Jason Weger, Andy Craig, T.W. Shannon, Randy Brogdon, Eric C. McCray and Kevin Crow, are seeking to serve his unexpired term.

Incumbent Senator Republican Jim Inhofe is being challenged by Republicans Erick Paul Wyatt, Evelyn L. Rogers, Rob Moye and D. Jean McBride-Samuels.

There are two candidates each on Democratic and Republican ballots who want to represent District 2 in the House of Representatives at the nation’s capital. Republican incumbent Markwayne Mullin is being challenged by Republican Darrel Robertson. Democrats seeking the office are Earl E. Everett and Joshua Harris-Till.

For more information, contact the county election board office, 402 W. Evergreen St., Suite A-2 (courthouse) or (580) 924-3228. Also visit the “online voter tool” at www.ok.gov/elections.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Durant Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com