Last updated: June 25. 2014 9:47AM - 2352 Views
Democrat News Staff

Precinct returns are posted Tuesday evening at the Bryan County Election Board office.
Precinct returns are posted Tuesday evening at the Bryan County Election Board office.
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Jay Perry was reelected Bryan County District 3 commissioner, and Nancy Conner will continue as county treasurer by the people’s vote, according to uncertified primary election returns released Tuesday evening by the election board.

Perry received 54.8 percent, 521 votes, whereas challenger Roger Hedgecock received 429 votes, 45.2 percent.

Conner defeated challenger Prudy Sullivan by 55.2 percent, receiving 1,488 votes, compared to 1,206, or 44.8 percent, for Sullivan.

Since these candidates were all Democrats without Republican challengers, the winners of these offices were decided in Tuesday’s primary.

When the final precinct had reported and results were relayed to Connor’s watch party Tuesday evening at Branding Iron, she was all smiles and even leaped into the air a little.

“I can’t believe how good this feels,” Connor said in the excitement as guests clapped.

“I would’ve been OK either way, but I’m very grateful for being elected,” she said. “It’s an honor. The people of Bryan County are the best people I’ve ever worked for. In this next term, I will do the best I can for them. My door is always open.”

In other county races, Kevin Carter defeated Chuck Downs in a bid for Bryan County District 1 commissioner. Carter received 500 votes, 51.4 percent, compared to 473 votes, 48.6 percent, for Downs.

Carter will face Republican challenger Ron Boyer in the November general election.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Durant Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com