Caddo, Tushka, Silo claim top honors

By Kevin Farr -

The Bryan County Coaches Association recently selected its basketball All-Conference teams with players from Caddo, Tushka and Silo leading the choices at the top of each squad.

This year’s conference postseason selections were divided into East and West divisions with a Most Valuable Player selected for each division in addition to All Conference and All Star picks.

Conference coaches of the year were Tushka’s Lori Ford for girls and Caddo first-year head coach Kolby Johnson for the boys.

Starting with the West Division for girls, 2A state semifinalist Tushka was the division champ with a 28-4 season record bolstered by MVP Jaylee Eaves.

The senior catalyst averaged 18.0 points along with eight rebounds, three assists, three steals and two blocked shots per contest. She scored 1,823 career points for the Lady Tigers.

During her final campaign, Eaves shot 53 percent from two-point range, 38 percent on threes and 78 percent from the charity stripe.

Joining Eaves on the All Conference squad were Tushka teammates Ryann Cochran, Lauren Hauff and Alissa Kindred. Other All Conference choices were Rock Creek’s Michaela Stinson and Hannah Heflin as well as Kensea Eppler from Silo.

The West All Star selections included Grace Wall from Tushka, Lainey Jestis and Teeronie McCann of Rock Creek, Silo’s Bea Martinez and Alys Parr, Maddie Partain and Logan Mullens from Calera in addition to Colbert’s Brady Rowland.

On the boys’ side, Rock Creek claimed the West Division team championship with a 21-7 overall record while reaching the Area Tournament. Silo senior Bryce Brister was chosen as the division Most Valuable Player after a tremendous season in which he helped catapult Silo to a 24-7 record and Area finals finish, losing twice in the postseason only to eventual state champ Latta.

Brister poured in 19.7 points a contest for Silo in addition to averaging 4.2 rebounds, 6.0 assists and 2.2 steals per contest. He finished with 1,724 career points as a Rebel.

The senior sharpshooter sank 53 percent from two-point range and 44 percent on three-pointers while also contributing 78 percent on free throws.

Also on the West All Conference team were Silo teammates Jake Hamilton and Nolan Brister along with Zach Dill from Tushka and Rock Creek’s Darian James and Shacona Vandenburg.

The All Star choices for the West included the Rock Creek trio of Brock Allen, Sam Roper and Karson Dry, Silo’s Dally Cheek, Dillon Mansell and Marcus Hampton from Tushka, Calera stalwarts Hunter Fuller and Cole Reeve as well as Ronnie Rickman of Colbert.

For the East Division, Caddo was the champion for the girls with a 20-6 season record that included a run to the Area round of the playoffs and Bryan County Tournament title.

Leading the charge once again was East Division Most Valuable Player Alli Adair, who also doubled as Bryan County tourney MVP.

She finished off another terrific season by pumping in 18 points per outing while also filling up the stat sheet with 6.8 rebounds, 8.0 assists and 5.0 steals a contest.

Adair shot 56 percent on two-point attempts, 34 percent on threes as well as 76 percent from the charity stripe.

Also on the East All Conference Team were Caddo teammates Kaci Clower and Brittney Miller along with Boswell’s Hailey Belvin, JaeLeigh Holder from Soper and Achille’s Raychel Alexander.

The All Star list on the girls’ side included Kynsey Dixon and Tanna Hightower of Caddo, Boswell’s Virginia Beddo, Breah Stewart and Harleigh Belvin, Kaylee Dennis from Soper, Sommer Rater of Achille and the Bennington duo of Maci Haislip and Maria Martinez.

Caddo’s boys captured the East Division title with a 19-6 record as well as claiming the Bryan County Tournament championship this year.

The East Division Most Valuable Player was Bruin junior Garrett McMichael, who also doubled as tournament MVP back in January.

McMichael wrapped up a sensational season by averaging 18.7 points an outing while steadily getting better as the season progressed, including more than 20 points per game in the playoffs.

He totaled 5.3 rebounds and two steals per contest.

Other All Conference choices for the East were McMichael’s Caddo teammates Kaden Johnson and Daniel Stone as well as Soper’s Cody White, Boswell’s Aaron Taylor and Bennington’s Andrew McDonald.

All Star picks for the boys included K.W. Adair and Gage McMichael from Caddo, the Soper trio of Cage Record, Tanner Trent and Bryce McLemore, Johnny Mays from Bennington, Austin McClung of Achille and Boswell’s Hayden Dill and Darin Brown.

West Division


MVP: Jaylee Eaves Tushka

All Conference

Ryann Cochran, Tushka

Lauren Hauff, Tushka

Alissa Kindred, Tushka

Michaela Stinson, Rock Creek

Hannah Heflin, Rock Creek

Kensea Eppler, Silo

All Stars

Grace Wall, Tushka

Lainey Jestis, Rock Creek

Teeronie McCann, Rock Creek

Bea Martinez, Silo

Alys Parr, Silo

Maddie Partain, Calera

Logan Mullens, Calera

Brady Rowland, Colbert


MVP: Bryce Brister, Silo

All Conference

Darian James, Rock Creek

Shacona Vandenburg, Rock Creek

Jake Hamilton, Silo

Nolan Brister, Silo

Zach Dill, Tushka

All Stars

Brock Allen, Rock Creek

Sam Roper, Rock Creek

Karson Dry, Rock Creek

Dally Cheek, Silo

Dillon Mansell, Tushka

Marcus Hampton, Tushka

Hunter Fuller, Calera

Cole Reeve, Calera

Ronnie Rickman, Colbert

East Division


MVP: Alli Adair, Caddo

All Conference

Kaci Clower, Caddo

Brittney Miller, Caddo

Hailey Belvin, Boswell

JaeLeigh Holder, Soper

Raychel Alexander, Achille

All Stars

Kynsey Dixon, Caddo

Tanna Hightower, Caddo

Virginia Beddo, Boswell

Breah Stewart, Boswell

Harleigh Belvin, Boswell

Kaylee Dennis, Soper

Maci Haislip, Bennington

Maria Martinez, Bennington

Sommer Rater, Achille


MVP: Garrett McMichael, Caddo

All Conference

Kaden Johnson, Caddo

Daniel Stone, Caddo

Cody White, Soper

Aaron Taylor, Boswell

Andrew McDonald, Bennington

All Stars

K.W. Adair, Caddo

Gage McMichael, Caddo

Cage Record, Soper

Tanner Trent, Soper

Bryce McLemore, Soper

Hayden Dill, Boswell

Darin Brown, Boswell

Johnny Mays, Bennington

Austin McClung, Achille

Girls Coach of the Year: Lori Ford, Tushka

Boys Coach of the Year: Kolby Johnson, Caddo

Contact Kevin Farr at 580-634-2161 or

By Kevin Farr

comments powered by Disqus